Students will learn basic firearm safety and storage, safe firearm handling, firearm parts and components, differences between revolvers and semi-automatic pistols, ammunition safety, parts and types, and firearms loading/unloading. Students will learn the fundamentals of marksmanship, isosceles shooting position, safety principles, loading/unloading, purchasing a firearm, selecting ammunition, and the importance of gun cleaning. Students will also practice handling and dry firing a Shot Indicating Resetting Trigger (S.I.R.T.) laser simulated firearm that effectively allows students to practice shooting fundamentals with a laser firearm in a classroom setting.
We recommend our Introduction to Firearms class before registering for Illinois Concealed Carry. However, it is NOT required.
Over the course of two days, students will learn basic firearm handling and safety rules; basic principles of marksmanship; care, cleaning, loading, and unloading of a concealable firearm; all applicable State and Federal laws relating to the ownership, storage, carry, and transportation of a firearm; weapon handling; and live fire qualification with a concealable firearm on a B-27 silhouette target approved by the Illinois State Police.
YOU DO NOT NEED A FOID CARD TO TAKE A CONCEALED CARRY CLASS. See the Concealed Carry Info Sheet.
Additional fees are as follows:
$150 +$3.53 ISP fee (IL residents) (payable to ISP with a credit card or personal check only)
$60 Live Scan Fingerprinting -Electronic fingerprints will expedite your application with the IL State Police!
(cash or credit cards for prints only)
FLORIDA CONCEALED CARRY PROCESS (no extra time in class is needed)
Illinois residents can apply for a Florida Concealed Carry permit without taking
additional classes. The extra hours/class required for a UTAH permit is not worth the money or time because it only adds one additional state which is Washington (not Washington, DC). See the information below.
ILLINOIS RESIDENT ONLY PERMIT
Permit(s) Honored In:
Alaska, Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina, Nebraska, New Hampshire, Nevada, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Vermont, Wisconsin
IL Permit(s) Not Honored In:
California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, North Dakota, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Washington, West Virginia, Wyoming,
FLORIDA (NON RESIDENT)
Permit(s) Honored In:
Alaska, Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, Nevada, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Vermont, Wisconsin, West Virginia, Wyoming,
Permit(s) Not Honored In:
California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Washington,
Florida & Utah
Permit(s) Honored In:
Alaska, Alabama, Arkansas, Arizona, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Mississippi, Montana, North Carolina, North Dakota, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, Nevada, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin, West Virginia, Wyoming,
Permit(s) Not Honored In:
California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina
$50 per student (range fee is not included)
5 yards - 10 rounds
7 yards - 10 rounds
10 yards - 10 rounds
Minimum qualification score is 21 out of 30.*
*If a student fails their qualification, a retest will be scheduled at a later date. Additional fees will be assessed.
This service is sorely needed as a result of firearm owners leaving firearms(mostly loaded) around the house without proper after life instructions for their family members. Oftentimes, the family members who are left behind are fearful of firearms and have no clue if the firearm is loaded. During my last two consultations, the firearms were loaded and improper handling could have resulted in a negligent discharge. One of our customers provided feedback from her consultation. If you need this service or have someone who needs this service, please reach out.
"When I needed support, JMD Defense was right there to respond to my needs. Let me tell you how. While preparing items in my mother's house for storage, I stumbled upon two old guns. I didn't know if they were loaded and didn't want to risk hurting myself or someone else to find out. I reached out to JMD Defense and the owner responded to me personally. She took time to gather information about the weapons and answered my questions. After checking out the weapons, she gave me advice as to next steps, including providing suggestions as to where I could have the guns cleaned. I could not have asked for anything more. Her response to my needs was superb. The knowledge that she displayed in an effort to educate me about the weapons was also excellent. Everything about the experience was painless. I won't hesitate to reach out to her again and have been telling others about JMD Defense, LLC." - W.S.
Our certified firearm instructors are available to help you with your first firearm purchase. We will assist you at the range with selecting up to five firearms to try out on the range.
This is NOT a shooting lesson. This is a firearm purchase consult with shooting assistance. You should have some familiarity with firearms and if not, we offer an Introduction to Firearms class.
The fee includes:
*1 hour firearm instruction at the range with a certified firearms instructor
*Shoot up to 5 firearms
What is NOT included:
*ammo (50 rounds are needed)
*eye or ear protection(we sell these items at JMD)
OUR MISSION IS TO PROTECT AND SAVE OUR YOUTH FROM NEGLIGENT FIREARM OWNERS.
This family firearm safety class is for EVERY family with children who makes a decision to have a firearm in their house. We want to stop the negligent shootings of children as a result of irresponsible firearm ownership. We will discuss how to secure guns from kids, teen drivers with parents who have a concealed carry license, why guns are not toys or show and tell, straw purchase education and warnings, and much more will be discussed.
Did you know that you can get a Firearm Owner's Identification Card(FOID) for anyone under 21 years old with a notarized ISP Affidavit form. The parent or guardian of the applicant MUST be eligible to obtain a FOID card before applying for the child.
During this class, we will also discuss why we believe everyone in the house should have a FOID card. If a family wants to apply for FOID cards, JMD Defense, LLC can notarize the affidavit. Call to schedule an appointment for the notarization
For more information, https://www.ispfsb.com/public/Documents/AffidavitGuardian.pdf
Sign up your family today.
Does your book club, social club, block club want to schedule a private group training. Please call 773.217.0488 for group reservations.
Tune in on Sunday, June 27th to hear three harrowing stories of survival from warrior women. They persevered despite a carjacking, being shot and an attempted assault on a bike trail. Our panelists will share their jaw dropping encounters with criminals and advice for your personal safety.
Register today and mark your calendar.