Every firearm owner should have self defense insurance. If you are ready to explore and sign up for self defense insurance, consider the USCCA-United States Concealed Carry Association's plans .
Students will learn basic firearm safety and storage, safe firearm handling, firearm parts and components, differences between revolvers and semi-automatic pistols, ammunition safety, parts and types, and firearms loading/unloading. Students will learn the fundamentals of marksmanship, isosceles shooting position, trigger manipulation drills, slow and rapid aimed fire drills, weapons safety principles, handgun disassembly, weapons loading/unloading, purchasing a firearm, selecting ammunition, and the importance of gun cleaning. Students will also practice handling and dry firing a Shot Indicating Resetting Trigger (S.I.R.T.) laser simulated firearm that effectively allows students to practice shooting fundamentals with a laser firearm in a classroom setting.
We recommend our Introduction to Firearms class before registering for Illinois Concealed Carry. A $20 discount is available for customers who’ve completed our Introduction to Firearms class within 2 months of registering for Illinois Concealed Carry.
Over the course of two days, students will learn basic firearm handling and safety rules; basic principles of marksmanship; care, cleaning, loading, and unloading of a concealable firearm; all applicable State and Federal laws relating to the ownership, storage, carry, and transportation of a firearm; weapon handling; and live fire qualification with a concealable firearm on a B-27 silhouette target approved by the Illinois State Police.
YOU DO NOT NEED A FOID CARD TO TAKE A CONCEALED CARRY CLASS. However, you can apply for your FOID card ($10) at JMD Defense when you submit your concealed carry application to the IL State Police.
If you choose to apply for your IL Concealed Carry Permit on the final day of class, JMD Defense & Investigations, LLC will provide complimentary processing.
$150 +$3.53 ISP fee (IL residents) (payable to ISP with a credit card or personal check only)
$60 Live Scan Fingerprinting -Electronic fingerprints will expedite your application with the IL State Police! (cash or credit cards for prints only)
Private Groups Available, Minimum 10, Maximum 14 - Contact us for pricing
Visit the Resource Page for how to apply for a concealed carry permit.
Learning how to clean your firearm is the first step to ensuring that your firearm is in proper working condition at all times. Your firearm should be cleaned after range days especially if you are shooting a ton of ammunition. Also, if you are a daily concealed carry permit holder, your firearm should be cleaned periodically if you are not a regular range visitor.
You must bring or rent a firearm, targets and ammo. Range fees (student and instructor) are not included. Range fees average around $20 - 25 per hour depending on the range.